HF or 2 meter + HF?

I am just starting out with a brand new license. HF / long distance is most appealing to me and also would like to talk on the radio to HAMs with similar interests locally. Do you recommend getting on the 2 meter for local talking? What is 2 meter like in Toronto?

- Allard VA3IOX

Sorry for the delay in getting an answer back to you. There are several ways in which you an become involved with VHF/UHF activity in the Toronto-GTA area. There have been a lot of changes in how this range of frequencies are being used, and as a result there has been a renewed interest with greater activity. The traditional use of VHF/UHF ham frequencies has been through the use of repeaters. If you go to www.repeaterbook.com and search on Toronto, you will find that there are 44 repeaters listed with frequencies ranging from 6 meters up into the microwave range. Activity on the repeaters, though, can be a bit sporatic. Generally the best times for making contacts are in the morning and late afternoon when people are commuting to work. There are a number of people who have mobile ham FM transcivers in their cars or trucks. The best group to contact about FM repeater activity and how best to get started is the Toronto FM Communication Society and they have a website at www.tfmcs.org The big new on the VHF/UHF front has been the growing popularity of DMR or digital radio. This is a relatively new mode that opens up some exciting possibilities for people who want the ability to communicate over long distances without the need of big antennas and expensive stations. Due to space limitations on replying I am going to send a second. Response. 73 Joe VE3FMQ

That pretty much sums up me listening to some 2M repeaters this week.

This is VAI30X listening to everyone listening 
;).